Personal tools
You are here: Home / Encyclopaedias / Cyber Law

Cyber Law

International Encyclopaedia for Cyber Law

Edited by Prof. Jos Dumortier, Mr Ruben Roex, Dr Yung-Shin Van der Sype, Mr Pieter Gryffroy

 Editors - Authors - Outline - Published monographs

The introduction of new digital information and communications technologies has given birth to a new legal domain, commonly called Information and Communication Technology Law or more fashionably - Cyber Law.

Electronic commerce has led to specific legal problems, for example with regard to evidence, liability, consumer protection or payment. The convergence between broadcasting, telecommunications and digital information technology has created a new platform for public information with all the related legal issues.

Practically every country in the world has issued specific legislation or developed case law in this area. The domain has acquired sufficient stability to fit into a common structure. A logical consequence of this evolution is the publication of an International Encyclopaedia of Cyber Law. The Encyclopaedia consists primarily in a series of national monographs, treating the different legal subjects related to information and communication technology on the basis of a common standard outline. The outline contains, besides a general introduction, seven main parts:

  • Regulation of the ICT Market;
  • Protection of Intellectual Property in the ICT Sector;
  • IICT Contracts;
  • Electronic Transactions;
  • Non-Contractual Liability;
  • Privacy Protection: and,
  • Computer-Related Crime.

Besides the national monographs, this Encyclopaedia also contains monographs on supranational and international cyber law issues. Examples are the monographs on European Union Cyber Law or on International and Global Telecommunications Law. The Encyclopaedia also provides an International Cyber Law Codex with important international texts in this field. The initial volume of the Encyclopaedia contains information about cyber laws in Australia, Hong Kong, Cyprus, Greece, Ireland, Japan, the U.K., Portugal, South Africa and Spain. Other countries will be incorporated as the Encyclopaedia matures.



  • Last modified 26-03-2019